366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 101

Oh. My. Frickin’ FSM. Talk about dodging a bullet. Okay, a metaphorical bullet, true, but one that had the potential to be big and messy and traumatic and possibly other stuff.

I got home tonight and found my landlady had already dropped off my rental statement. This made me happy because it’s usually a day or two into the new month before she distributes them, and that plus the fact she also has a tendency to deposit the checks several days later…well, I know the money’s leaving my account anyway, so I’d be just as pleased to have it done expeditiously so I don’t have to keep mentally subtracting.

At any rate, rent statement, with base rent plus cable (which in my case means Internet service) and this month’s calculation of utilities. After which was a notice that she’s turning the place into a care center and has given everyone notice to vacate…

except [tenant whose name I’ve heard but who I don’t think I’ve met yet], [handyman], and me. She wants me to stay. Proceeded to average out the monthly cable and utilities for the last year, suggested a new flat rental rate of $X equal to previous base rate plus the averaged cable/utilities number, and finished with, “If this is okay with you, please text to let me know.”

TEXTED!

Because really, I don’t want to have to move. I will at some point, but until I know where I want to be, I’d rather stay here and be able to throw money at the various “funds” (e.g., general travel, Burning Man, etc.), which will now include relocation. It should have before, frankly, since I know how quickly things can change, but I think I didn’t want to think about it.

Now I will. And while I am grateful she wants me to stay — if for no other reason than she probably could not rent this particular space due to difficult access — I need to remember I’m my own best defense against the unexpected. Not an easy thing to learn, but a good thing nonetheless.

2 Comments

Filed under 366 Days, fear, gratitude

2 responses to “366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 101

  1. it is all about a goal……specially when someone gives you one on a nice dinner plate. Syd, what happened with the A B C mess, the raise etc. did it all turn out ok?

  2. don’t leave town without contacting me; coffee some time; I’m in midst of moving to altadena

Add your two cents:

