366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 96

The helicopters are acting weird, y’all.

Yesterday evening waiting for the bus home after I stopped off for a bite to eat, I noticed a helicopter just hanging out over the intersection at a relatively low altitude — couple of hundred feet, maybe less, as I’m not that great a judge of distance on the ground, and straight up even less so. It was starting to get dark, so I couldn’t see the colors very well, but it appeared to be white on top and red underneath, which are not standard law-enforcement colors in this area.

Not to mention there was no sign of any problem at the intersection, nor any visible police presence, even driving through the area. The really odd thing is that, between the sound of the copter itself, plus the general road noise, I would have sworn someone in the copter was on a loudspeaker. A very very poor quality of loudspeaker, to be sure, since what I heard was muffled and garbled and static-y to boot.

Soon enough it circled away,and I didn’t think any more about it. For about five minutes, when another copter flew into the same area and hung out over the intersection. And then the first one (or one very similar to it) came back. And then a third one. All hovering around near the intersection where I waited for my bus, drifting off over the college or the residential areas one street west of where I was. And still, through all of it, no sign of police activity, and none of the copters had searchlights. Or if they did, they weren’t on, and had there been a problem, you’d think they’d use searchlights if they had them.

It isn’t as if they could have been doing anything clandestine, like tracking a suspicious person, because they were all right up there and if one copter might have been ignored, three? All drifting around the same intersection?

Very odd.

And the reason I decided to write this up? Because a few minutes, I heard a helicopter hovering in my neighborhood. Can’t find anything in the local news to explain either yesterday’s or today’s oddities.

Weird. Just weird. On the other hand, if it was all law enforcement-related, I’m glad whatever it was didn’t lap over into my bus zone…

2 Comments

Filed under 366 Days, gratitude, helicopters acting strangely

2 responses to “366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 96

  1. jp

    Maybe some swooping skyline shots for a movie?

  2. I was thinking the same thing as jp……movie freakiness?

Add your two cents:

