366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 88

Oh, look! It’s a meme that became a blog post! I’ll be no one’s ever done that before!

(Except maybe me the last time I saw in interesting meme…)

(X) Shot a gun
(X) Gone on a blind date
(X) Skipped school
(X) Watched someone die
() Visited Canada
(X) Visited Hawaii
() Visited Cuba
() Visited Europe
() Visited South America
(X) Visited Las Vegas
() Visited Central America
() Visited Asia
() Visited Africa
(X) Visited Florida
(X) Visited Mexico
(X) Seen the Grand Canyon in person
(X) Flown in a helicopter
(X) Served on a jury
(X) Been lost
(X) Traveled to the opposite side of the country
() Visited Washington, DC
() Swam in the Ocean
(X) Cried yourself to sleep
() Played cops and robbers
() Played cowboys and Indians
(X) Recently colored with crayons
() Sang karaoke
() Sang a solo or duet in church
() Paid for a meal with coins only
() Made prank phone calls
(X) Laughed until some beverage came out of your nose
() Caught a snowflake on your tongue
() Had children
(X) Had a pet
() Been skinny-dipping
() Been fishing
() Been boating
(x) Been downhill skiing
() Been water skiing
(X) Been camping in a trailer/RV
(X) Been camping in a tent
() Driven a motorcycle
() Been bungee-jumping (ripcord jumping)
(X) Gone to a drive-in movie
(X) Done something that could have killed you…
() Done something that you will regret for the rest of your life
() Rode an elephant
() Rode a camel
(X) Eaten just cookies or cake or ice cream for dinner
(X) Been on TV
() Stolen any traffic signs
(X) Been in a car accident
() Been in the Hospital in past 24 months
(X) Donated blood
() Gotten a (speeding) or any other type of ticket in the past 12 months
(X) Gotten a piercing
(X) Gotten a Tattoo
(X) Driven a manual transmission vehicle
() Ever owned your dream car
() Been Married
() Been divorced
(X) Fell in love
(X) Fell out of love
() Paid for a strangers meal
(X) Driven over 100mph
() Been scuba diving
() Written a published book/story/poetry
() Eaten snails

Rather an eclectic list to begin with, and not less so re: my answers. Let’s look at them in slightly more detail, shall we?

Yes, I have actually fired a gun. More precisely, a rifle. Naval Junior ROTC training week, Miramar Naval Air Station. Target practice with a standard bolt-action. Three! Whole! Shots! Not sure now whether I even hit the target.  🙂

Yes, I’ve also been on a couple of blind dates. Neither was notably successful.

Skipped school…I don’t remember ever deciding in college not to attend a class. Prior to college, skipping class wasn’t as option, mostly because I went to schools that were too small to allow for secure hiding places or the chance to leave campus unseen. Besides, I liked school. But in my senior year, when the six from my school attended chem classes at Steve’s school, every now and then the teacher would let the students use the class time to, say, study for another teacher’s exam. At which point, my group would be cut loose. And would go hang out in a doughnut shop rather than going immediately back to our own campus.

I know, such a rebel…

Watched someone die…in the sense that my pets have always been “someone” to me rather than “something”, then yes. As for humans, I don’t think Steve being on life support for a weekend counts, and I’m pretty sure neither his folks nor I were in his room when they finally took him off life support.

My international sightseeing/visiting is pretty much nonexistent; I did “visit” Mexico in the sense that the cruise ship my friends and I were on docked in Ensenada for a day and we wandered around town for a few hours. Hawaii was lovely, the bits of it I saw (stayed in Honolulu, day trips around Oahu and the Big Island). And I’ve been to the Grand Canyon several times, although it’s been ages since the last time.

Cried myself to sleep…oh, let’s not count the times.

I say I’ve never played cops & robbers, or cowboys & Indians, only because I honestly have no clear memory of being in a large enough group of kids to make either of those games worthwhile. Statues, red-light/green-light, Simon Says, Mother May I?, hopscotch, jumping rope, tetherball, dodgeball — those would all be yes.

I’ve been on the occasional boat/ship, but I don’t think that counts as boating for purposes of the meme. The small x on downhill skiing represents the only time I’ve worn skis: a YMCA summer day camp visit to one of the local ski slopes. Yes, summer. The slope was covered in sawdust. I fell a couple of times, burned my hands on the rope tow, gave it up as a bad job…and when we left the ski area, I couldn’t do the backward hop into the seat on the ski lift, one of the attendants ran forward and pushed the seat down and under until I could get my butt on it. As I recall, at a distance of six feet or less from the edge of the cliff. This is the thing that counts as “might have killed me”.

As might have the driving in excess of 100 miles an hour, but there are some stretches of the 5 on the way to/from Reno where you drive as fast as everyone else or get flattened.  😉

Yes, I was once on television. Senior year of high school. A local (very very local) show called “Challenge My Sermon”, on which the pastor/priest/rabbi/minister du jour would give a sermon and then take questions from two members of his congregation and two people from opposing religions, so to speak, and yes, it was just as exciting as it sounds. I also inadvertently ended up showing rather a lot of leg, which took the teasing by my classmates to truly frightening levels. In and around the occasional verbal equivalent of wolf whistles, which considering most of the time I never got noticed in that way, was more than a little mind-boggling.

And the rest of it seems sort of ordinary, although some of the camping has been at Burning Man which is anything but. If you have any questions about any of the other answers (or lack thereof), let me know and I’ll enlighten you.  😉

 

2 Comments

Filed under 366 Days, gratitude

2 responses to “366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 88

  1. jp

    When I first saw the list I didn’t expect to have done any of the items, but reading it now I was kind of surprised to find myself less boring than originally thought 😀

  2. Oh, Syd, you are a rebel…..doughnuts on school time.

Add your two cents:

