366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 63

Headache was gone when I woke up, so thank you all for your good mojo in that direction. And I slept well, also a good thing. Then I got to work to discover an email from about half an hour after I left yesterday, telling me yet another of our buyers found out his very important shipment was on hold at that same ruddy vendor.

I swear they’re out to get me.

Of course, no response to either my email or my voicemail, so I called again — and this person who is apparently the only one in the whole flippin’ galaxy who can lift a credit hold tells me they’ve recently switched to a new system and everyone is concentrating on getting to know it.

“What does it do, render you all blind to emails from frantic customers?” I wanted to ask, but didn’t, because hey, not politic to piss off the Holder of the Power. Fortunately, the individual in question verified our payment had been posted and therefore sent out an email releasing our orders! Yay!

Not a peep about the other two items that shouldn’t have been problems at all because they were the vendor’s fault in the first place. Oh, well, one thing at a time.

Also…performance review today! As you might guess based on the enthusiastic exclamation point, it went well — they gave me more points than I’d given myself, commented favorably about improvements made in areas that were troublesome last year, and said I’m an asset to the department and they’re glad to have me.

Fingers now get to be crossed for a decent raise. Profit sharing this year was about what it had been last year (and very happy I was to get it, too!), and I’d be happy with a raise following the same “format”, i.e., either a similar dollar amount or similar percentage increase..

Either of those would be a good and happy-making thing.  🙂

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under 366 Days, gratitude, work

One response to “366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 63

  1. jp

    I learned to always inflate my performance on my self evals, because nobody else is going to do it for me. I’m convinced self eval is a way to save the manager from doing the work.

Add your two cents:

