366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 45

You will have noticed I didn’t post anything on 1/10/16. Rather, what I posted that day, very early in the morning, was for 1/9/16. Which means I’m a day in arrears.

I’m sure someone’s trying to come up with some funny play on words re: being “in arrears”.

Stop it.  😉

Anyway, playing catch up, this is what I’d have written yesterday, had I not chosen to give it a pass…

Sunday’s primary achievements were two in number:

  • I got a load of laundry done! Finally, after talking about it for a week or two. Honestly, I’m incredibly grateful (!) the landlady lets me use the washer and dryer in the house, because having to haul my washables to the laundromat would be no fun at all. Not to mention requiring me to collect coins and/or small bills to pay the machines. Even so, I look forward to once more having my own washer and dryer in my own place. You really don’t know how much of a difference that kind of thing makes until you don’t have it anymore, for whatever reason.
  • I successfully avoided calling my landlady a conspiracy nut. This time we were having a perfectly rational conversation about native/bee-friendly/butterfly-friendly/bird-friendly plants, and then she’s all, “What do you think about chemtrails?” I replied, quite circumspectly, I think, that I hadn’t investigated the topic much. Now, did I already have an opinion? Of course. But in truth, I hadn’t actually done much digging on my own — a situation I remedied after I came back from starting my laundry. And yes, my original opinion remains unchanged: landlady = conspiracy theory kool-aid consumer. She’s nice and all, and I appreciate how often she tells me she wishes more of her tenants were like me…but I really really need to not have that sort of conversation with her because it isn’t going to end well. So yay me for a factual answer that let us both save face, whether she realized that’s what I was doing or not.

After that I mostly spent the day reading fanfic and watching Doctor Who.

Now, off to post for today!

2 Comments

Filed under 366 Days, gratitude

2 responses to “366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 45

  1. Our next door neighbor deeply believes in chemtrails…..deeply….it’s in the bible she says. I was thinking about getting her a roll of aluminum foil for Christmas.

  2. Syd

    Heavy-duty sort, I trust?

    Oh! In keeping with your comment:

Add your two cents:

