366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 44

Yesterday I mentioned famous questionnaires, with the implication I’d be answering at least one of them today. Thing is, two of them are quite similar, so I think I’ll combine the Bernard Pivot Questionnaire and the James Lipton Questionnaire and see what I come up with.

Here’s Pivot’s:

  1. What is your favorite word?
  2. What is your least favorite word?
  3. What is your favorite drug?
  4. What sound or noise do you love?
  5. What sound or noise do you hate?
  6. What is your favorite curse word?
  7. Who would you like to see on a new banknote?
  8. What profession other than your own would you not like to attempt?
  9. If you were reincarnated as some other plant or animal, what would it be?
  10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

And here’s Lipton’s:

  1. What is your favorite word?
  2. What is your least favorite word?
  3. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
  4. What turns you off?
  5. What is your favorite curse word?
  6. What sound or noise do you love?
  7. What sound or noise do you hate?
  8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
  9. What profession would you not like to do?
  10. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

As I said, very similar — the differences lie in the fact Lipton dropped the questions about favorite drug, new banknotes and reincarnation and put in the ones about what turns the respondent on/off creatively, etc., and what other profession would they like to try, a nice balance, I think, if you’re going to ask what they wouldn’t want to try. So combined, that comes to 13 questions (triskaidekaphobics beware!).

Pivot/Lipton version:

  1. What is your favorite word?
  2. What is your least favorite word?
  3. What is your favorite drug?
  4. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?
  5. What turns you off?
  6. What sound or noise do you love?
  7. What sound or noise do you hate?
  8. What is your favorite curse word?
  9. Who would you like to see on a new banknote?
  10. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
  11. What profession other than your own would you not like to attempt?
  12. If you were reincarnated as some other plant or animal, what would it be?
  13. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

And off we go!

  1. What is your favorite word? Luscious. It just sounds…luscious. “Voluptuous” is a close second, however.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚
  2. What is your least favorite word? Ebullient. The first time I read it, it sounded fizzy and bubbly and wonderful. And I heard it in my head as EB-you-lent, so that’s how I always mentally pronounced it. But then I heard it used in an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation, and Brent Spiner (who played Data, my favorite character…Spock from the original series, then Data…there’s probably material there to explore, but not tonight) pronounced it e-BOOL-yent, and it was the auditory equivalent of being smacked upside the head with a rock. And of course when I looked it up, I found I’d been hearing it wrong in my head, but the real pronunciation makes my teeth itch.
  3. What is your favorite drug? Bodywork, either as a practitioner or recipient: a good session, whether as the one on the table or the one doing the work, can be mind-expanding. A glass of good wine wouldn’t go amiss, however.
  4. What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally? Enthusiasm. The way it feels to watch people who are truly good at a thing, or so excited about it and desirous of sharing it with anyone who’ll stand still long enough, is like plugging into the world’s biggest battery. And when I feel it for whatever I’m engaged it — glorious!
  5. What turns you off? That’s an interesting one, something I don’t think I’ve ever really thought about. Ignorance is a turnoff, particularly willful ignorance. Bullying behavior, which so often seems the manifestation of ignorance.
  6. What sound or noise do you love? The way people’s breathing changes during a good hug.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚
  7. What sound or noise do you hate? Cries of pain, whether human or animal. Voices raised in anger.
  8. What is your favorite curse word? “Goddamned fucking son of a BITCH.” Followed closely by “Fuck fuck fuck fuckin’ fuck!”
  9. Who would you like to see on a new banknote? Assuming it should be a dead American of historical note, Harriet Tubman and George Washington Carver come to mind. Or Elizabeth Blackwell, the first woman to become a medical doctor in the US.
  10. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt? When I was growing up, I desperately wanted to become an actor. (Okay, at the time it was still “actress”, but the profession doesn’t need to be gendered.) And I was very good at it. But the same mother who bragged to our friends that I had at least half the lines in my sixth-grade graduation play was never reluctant to point out there were more actor waiting tables and driving cabs than making a living from acting, which was her unsubtle way of guiding me toward a “paying” career. On the other hand, I do still love both bodywork and things editorial…
  11. What profession other than your own would you not like to attempt? Commercial crab fishing. Cold, wet and dangerous.
  12. If you were reincarnated as some other plant or animal, what would it be? Commiphora myrrha, one of the tree varieties that produces myrrh. I adore myrrh. Or possibly as a vanilla orchid. Or a cat.ย  ๐Ÿ™‚
  13. If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates? I want to hear a fucking rational explanation for three cats dead at the hand of a humane society vet, is what I want. And it had better be good.

So. A questionnaire. Maybe in a day or two I’ll tackle the Proust one, which reminds me quite a bit of a writing exercise to create believable characters — as in, whether any of the info makes it onto the page, the stage or the screen, the more you know about the character’s “background”, the more convincing said character will be.

Grateful for the friend who took the Proust questionnaire in the first place, since it inspired me to go find the Pivot and Lipton versions to use as a warm-up.

3 Comments

Filed under 366 Days, Bernard Pivot Questionnaire, gratitude, James Lipton Questionnaire

3 responses to “366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 44

  1. jp

    A lot of people cite “moist” as a least favorite word, but it has never bothered me. Mostly because I associate it with chocolate cake as opposed to whatever they associate it with.

    I love the idea of giving these questions to my fictional characters to learn more about them.

  2. Syd

    I recall being in a car when the conversation turned to unfavorite words, and “moist” and “taint” both came in for loathing and opprobrium, jp. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks, yellowdoggranny!

Add your two cents:

