366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 27

Today, in honor of Festivus (which is frankly the only really interesting thing I ever got out of Seinfeld, with the possible exception of the Soup Nazi), I present to you:

Today We Have Airing of Grievances
(with all due apologies to Henry Reed’s “Naming of Parts”…and to any actual poets who happen across this…)

Today We Have Airing of Grievances

Today we have airing of grievances. Earlier,
we had work. Later we shall have dinner, and after
the Feats of Strength. But now, today, we have
airing of grievances. The moon rises in splendor,
bedecked by silvery veils of clouds, beaming near the full.
But today we have airing of grievances.

Grievance the first, that a gift sent from a vendor’s
accounts receivable contact to me, because I make
her life easier, was without prior notice conscripted as
a prize in the holiday luncheon raffle. My new jacket
fits well and is warm, warmer than my sweater.
I am not attending the luncheon.

Grievance the second, that my bus home was
fifteen minutes late to arrive, ensuring I would not
make the connecting bus to pick up my rental car and
forcing me to call for a late pick-up. The manager said
it was no problem, and would I be at the usual place?
Kindness despite a late pick-up.

Grievances the third and fourth, connected: that the
rental agency now routes calls through a call center, and
twice the recording told me my call could not be put through;
hung up on while my battery neared death. I got through
on the third try, and finished my request apace.
My battery lived long enough.

My battery lived long enough. My bus arrived, albeit
late; I was home before my pick-up arrived. I was thought
kindly of by a near stranger, though I do not get to enjoy
the corporeal gift. These are slight matters compared to
many others, and I am grateful that this is so.
But today we have airing of grievances.

***********************************************

For those with an interest, the poem “Naming of Parts”, and an analysis of same.  🙂

2 Comments

Filed under 366 Days, Festivus, gratitude

2 responses to “366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 27

  1. grateful to be on grievance and gratitude list; love e

  2. jp

    That was ever so delightful. And also, I didn’t really watch much of the Seinfeld so this Festivus thing is somewhat new to me, and I must confess I’m a bit nervous with regard to the feats of strength. I learned in junior high school P.E. that I’m not very adept at them.

Add your two cents:

