366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 8

It’s been a weird week. Not only for what’s been going on in the wider world, but at work as well. I took the day before Thanksgiving off — the office closes at noon that day anyway, and some recent changes to the process we use to generate our vendor payments meant (a) I would be done with everything I needed to do that week by Tuesday afternoon and (b) the office is always closed the day after Thanksgiving anyway, so (c) did I really want to go in only to play catch-up for four solid hours?

Answer: No, not in this lifetime.Β  πŸ™‚

And so I had a full five days off in a row, which is the longest stretch of time I’ve been out of the office since Burning Man. And I enjoyed it immensely, but all this week I’ve felt as if I was Alice Through the Looking Glass, running with the Red Queen and being told, “Now, here, you see, it takes all the running you can do, to keep in the same place. If you want to get somewhere else, you must run at least twice as fast as that!” Spent the first half of Monday getting back on schedule re: the basics that didn’t get done Wednesday or Friday before I could even start the work for the current week, and even though I got everything that had a deadline done by its appointed time, there’s a very dragged-behind-a-truck aspect to the week.

Plus I’ve been waking up in the middle of the night to find myself stapled to the bed by the cats, who are very much not fans of cool to chilly nighttime temps. (No, I’m not going to call it cold. Cold is what my friends in Reno and central New York state are getting right now. Cool, yes. Chilly, even brisk, possibly. Not cold. Even though it is kinda cold for my little corner of the state.)

So I’m more tired than usual, but still a night owl (which y’all might have noticed based on the time stamps for my posts) who has to get up before 6:00 AM. Oy. Vey, even.

All of which boils down to this: that I am incredibly grateful to be able to sleep in this weekend. And that I have a bed in which to do it.

3 thoughts on “366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 8

  1. You cannot put a specific value on being able to sleep in one’s own warm bed. Years of trying to drive home in blizzards, sometimes not getting home, taught me that and I have vowed to not take it for granted. It also reminds me that many people in the world, and even closer to home, do not have that and I am a lucky fool, even when I complain about the mundane. (I still will, but you get the point…) And yes, sleeping in is another gratitude topic entirely πŸ˜€

  2. JP’s right..nothing like your own snuggly bed…our days are mostly high 50’s to mid 60’s but nights are in the 30’s…I am enjoying my flannel sheets,electric blanket and big fat fluffy duvet that my grand gave me..it’s the small things that mean the most.

Add your two cents: