366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 3

Things that can be problematic in this city without a car of your own:

Getting to work
Having a social life
Buying groceries

I mean, think about that last one. Even a single person with a tiny fridge occasionally needs to fill that fridge, and the cupboards, and sometimes the purchases aren’t food at all, or not people food: paper goods, laundry detergent, cat food, cat litter, and so on. There’s a limit to how much one person can carry, even if you add one of those little wheeled carts to the equation and aren’t dealing just with paper bags. Tearable paper bags. Oh, you can take your own bags with you, of course, or buy reusable bags at the store, but still — how many can you carry when they’re full?

The wheeled cart is a help, definitely, as long as you also remember you have to get it, fully loaded, onto, and off of, the bus. Not exactly how I want to do my upper-body work. 🙂

There’s the bus schedule to think about as well, having to hustle from the bus stop to the store and run the aisles and get through checkout and load the cart and/or bags and get back to the stop before the next bus arrives. That’s a lot to pack into a bit less than an hour. I can do it, but it’s a rush, and even with a list I sometimes get in too much of a hurry to make sure I grabbed everything. There’s another bus I can take from the store that runs slightly more often than my usual one, but it also tends to be very very crowded for a couple of hours after work, and multiple bags and/or the cart make it that much more crowded.

And if you think I’m the only person who might have groceries on that particular bus, you would be wrong.

Today, therefore, I am grateful one of the local markets offers grocery delivery. Because when you need milk and yogurt and cottage cheese and various canned goods and cat food AND cat litter all at the same time, that is, and I hope you’ll pardon my choice of language, a fuckload of stuff to haul around. This — being able to get the groceries delivered — is a HUGE help.

6 Comments

Filed under 366 Days, car, gratitude, transportation

6 responses to “366 Days of Gratitude and Good Things: Day 3

  1. we used to have groceries delivered here but the store stopped doing it..I miss that..I think after the explosion it just screwed up everything….

  2. Seriously, indeed. I can still tense up when someone gets romantic about doing daily marketing (like ‘they’ll get to do on their one week vacation to Prague’).

  3. I hate shopping for groceries, cats and butts……pretty much anything with the exception of handbags. A while back we discovered that Walmart delivered for free if you bought over 50 bucks I think. We ordered 6 cases of the sugar free water we like…and detergent…and toilet paper….and napkins and on and on. I had done my homework and while everything was a little higher priced, when I factored in gas and the stress on my heart and marriage…it was worth it. Eventually all of the big bulk stuff was no longer “in stock.” But, I loved those few times we did it that way. Now, we are back to gas, stress, and arguments about shopping. If I had to take a bus and do what you have done….I’d have empty cupboards and well, I’ll leave it at that. A clarification: When I have said I wished I knew you back then….what I am really trying to say is I wish I knew your stories from back then….but, maybe as you go thru the year I’ll learn more about you and then we can figure out where to get shit faced.

  4. dude for real, i used to ride the bus and do the food bank thing. one time, i had so much food in the little cart that the cart fucking exploded while i was tryin to catch the bus. oh my god man.

  5. Syd

    yellowdoggranny: Explosion? Please, do tell!

    travelosopher: Oh, trust me, I love the IDEA of it. Walking/biking distance (in a direction I’m not absolutely petrified to try riding the bike…) with lovely organic produce, humanely raised and slaughtered meat and poultry (I’m an omnivore. So sue me), and affordable prices. I know, I know, but it’s a wonderful dream. 🙂

    rosemary: I think may be part of the reason I decided to do this — to unlock more stories. As to where to get shitfaced, I’m sure we can knock something together. 😉

    jessie: That must have been some major food-banking that day! Did you manage to get it all home anyway?

  6. jp

    I have many friends who have moved to Chicago over the years, and usually shortly after being there they’ve all sold off their cars to focus on mass-transit and just plain walking. It’s a very romantic and idealized concept, living so close to everything and not having the expense of a car/insurance/gas, etc. But then I think about the shopping aspect of it, and NO.

Add your two cents:

